Kirk Horn Award

The purpose of the Kirk Horn Award is to recognise outstanding contributions in the field of forestry in New Zealand, with those eligible being members who currently or previously have worked in forestry in New Zealand.

No applications are called for as the recipient is selected by a committee made up of either the President of the NZIF, the President of the Royal Society and the Professor of the School of Forestry, or made up in total or part by past winners of the Kirk Horn Award, at the discretion of Council.

This award is given out every two years (on even numbered years).

If you wish to suggest names of potential recipients of the Kirk Horn Award, please email the NZIF President and/or the Convener of the NZIF Fellows Committee.

Past holders of the Kirk Horn Award are:

2018 R Dale

2016 J Groome

2014 A. McEwen

2012 W.R.J. Sutton

2010 P.J. Berg

2008 L. Knowles

2006 P. Maclaren

2004 M. Wilcox

2002 A.L. Poole

2000 A.G.D. Whyte

1998 P.J. McKelvley

1996 C. O'Loughlin

1994 C.G.R. Chavasse

1992 P.W. Smail

1990 A.W. Grayburn