Forester of the Year

The NZIF Forester of the Year Award is one of the highest accolades the Institute can bestow. It recognises an NZIF member who has made an outstanding contribution to either the forestry profession or the forestry sector. The award recognises leadership, excellence and personal integrity, particularly where this demonstrates the character and strength of the forestry profession.  To apply please click on this link Nomination form Forester of the Year

The awardee receives a certificate and the Forester of the Year carving, which they hold for one year.

Past holders of the NZIF Forester of the Year are:

2019 John Wardle

2018 Peter Clark

2017 Garth Cumberland

2016 Sally Strang

2015 Brian Richardson

2014 Paul Nicholls

2013 Philip Taylor

2012 Brett Gilmore

2011 Peter Weir

2010 Russell Dale

2009 George Asher and David Bergin

2008 Kit Richards

2007 Bruce Manley

2006 Peter Berg

2005 Andrew McEwen

1993 John Balneaves

1990 Peter Smail