NZIF Awards

The New Zealand Institute of Forestry (NZIF) gives out two awards – the Kirk Horn Award and Forester of the Year.
The NZIF Foundation also gives other awards, including scholarships for forestry students.

Kirk Horn Award

The Kirk Horn Award recognises outstanding contributions to forestry in New Zealand and is offered every second year. Rather than applying, the recipient is selected by a committee made up of either the NZIF President, the President of the Royal Society and Professor of the School of Forestry, or made up in total or part from past winners of the Award at the discretion of Council.

About the Kirk Horn

To suggest potential recipients of the Kirk Horn Award, please email the NZIF President and/or the Convener of the NZIF Fellows Committee.

See Honours Board for previous winners

NZIF Forester of the Year

The Forester of the Year Award is awarded to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the forestry sector in the last year.

The award is open to any nominated NZIF member (who must have achieved at least Ordinary status). The award recognises leadership, excellence and personal integrity, particularly where this demonstrates the character and strength of the forestry profession. The recipient receives a certificate and the Forester of the Year carving, which they hold for one year.

About the Carving

For more details about the criteria for both awards, please contact NZIF

See Honours Board for previous winners

Page attachments